Hero

Growing up I’ve had a number of heroes: my parents, the cousin I admired, the entrepreneur I found spectacular, my newest favourite singer, the list is endless. I often made up these situations in my head where I had achieved what they had and become just like them.

My first big achievement came in Class 3, when my report card told me I had got a General Proficiency.  The 9 year old in me couldn’t comprehend how someone who didn’t understand the value of regular studying could achieve something like that.  I remember coming home and telling my mother, “Mum look! I got a General Proficiency!” I was on cloud nine for the next few weeks. My parents stood by the opinion that I should try my hand at many things and let me do whatever I wished.

Enter Middle School. Everything was different: more independence, more activities. In this newness, I took up everything that came my way, from dance to art-related events and ended up participating in a number of activities through the year. This time my report card filled me with a sense of happiness like I had experienced in Class 3; I had been given the Best All Rounder prize. To be honest I never knew prize existed and was ecstatic. My mother was the happiest person ever. To be able to see me achieve something so big brought tears to her eyes.

But just before Prize Day, people began to talk, about how I didn’t deserve this. I was vulnerable and this hurt me immensely. This was when my mother held me tight and gave me the best talk I’ve ever had. She explained to me how I wouldn’t have been given this unless I deserved this, that this was only the stepping stone to everything I was yet to achieve, and regarding the back-biting, I still remember her telling me, “Prove them wrong.” I can’t tell you how right she was.

This was the first time I noticed everything my mother did in great detail. She’s a teacher, so she not only handled her job, things at home, but also made time to do the things she was liked. I began to imbibe everything I could about her, because somewhere inside me I knew she inspired me, that she was the woman I wanted to be like; my hero.

I ended up getting the All Rounder in Class 7 and 8 and my hero never let me choose the easy way out and back down. She let me make my choices and allowed me to attend every workshop I wanted. That is how Film-Making came into my life and today when I’ve won so many awards for my films, I know the reason. Over Classes 9, 10 and 11, she has made sure I did everything while keeping my academics going. I’ve faced a number of failures but she always told me, “You need to hit rock bottom to get back to the top.” and now I’ve worked and continue to work for the things I love and have created my own niche.

These little things she says make a huge difference in my life. I’ve been able to not only handle everything in my life but also excel in everything I do because of her. This year one of the biggest things happened in my life: I was nominated for the post of School Deputy Head Girl. It was something I had never expected and when I look at it now I’ve been able to achieve this because of her.

The psychology student in me tells me I may have inherited my Achievement Motive from both my parents, but in all earnestness she is the one who has chiselled it.  Heritability only works to an extent; evolutionary psychology proves this.

The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world.

4 thoughts on “Hero

  1. As I personally know your mother. …I must say my dear Arushi. ..Itu has been amazing. Also I remember you from your PIQ days . As a child you wanted to achieve and never gave up. Am proud of what you have written. There are heroes behind heroes !!!!

  2. Got directed to this blogpost from a facebook share. This is indeed a pleasurable read.
    Do keep up the awesomeness 😀

Leave a comment